So RZA and Tarantino walk into a bar: Man with the Iron Fists Preview

It’s time for a good old-fashioned Kung Fu movie! Ooops, did I say old-fashion? Actually, I meant a new age kung-fu movie pumped up with steroids and Quentin Tarantino-ism. The Man with the Iron Fists is a soon to be released martial arts film that is packed to the brim with famous actors, epic action, sexy sex and blood that practically pours off of the screen. After all, you can’t spell Kung Fu without F and U.

While the name Quentin Tarantino is printed above the poster, he is not the director, or writer of the story. No, the film was actually written and directed by renowned rapper, RZA, who you may know from the Wu Tang Clan, but don’t let that make you think that it is any less awesome, as the film boasts an impressive cast, including Russell Crowe, Lucy Liu, Jamie Chung, David Bautista (a.k.a the wrestler Batista), and RZA himself. Below you will find the trailer, but be warned, it is not for the weak of heart, and the trailer itself is rated  R.

__________________________

The Plot

While the trailer shows a whole lot of ass-kicking, there is very little revealed about the actual story, save for what we see in the beginning. RZA, who is a blacksmith in a small feudal-era Chinese village, is forced to take up arms and defend himself as well as his fellow villagers. We see hints of a power struggle in the scenes of combat, which leads me to assume that some Chinese families are vying for power; however, how the blacksmith and his village play a role in this, I am not sure.

Even so, while story adds spice to the metaphorical dish, people watch Kung Fu movies for the fighting sequences, not the stories, and the trailer shows that people will not be left wanting in regards to that. We see that there are numerous fighting styles within the story, including classic martial arts, western shoot and stab fighting, ninja like fighting tactics with weapons, and some degree of supernatural elements as we see Batista, who’s name in the film is ‘Bronze Skin’ live up to his name when facing numerous enemies. This, along with the assumed balls-to-the-wall beat ’em up fighting that I hope to see with RZA’s character will provide a refreshing new taste to my movie palate.

Yeah, a black man in Feudal China, you got a problem with that?

______________________________

The Analysis

It is rare for a film critic to be truly impressed by a martial arts movie (save for legendary movies such as ‘Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon‘ and ‘Hero’) so I wouldn’t be expecting a high score on Rotten Tomatoes. The fact that this is a movie that has Tarantino’s name stamped on it will probably automatically alienate people, as his name beckons gratuitous violence and gore. While I am not about to jump the gun and say that the movie won’t be considered on the ‘Top Movies of All Time’ list, I will say that it is probably not a film meant to enlighten those who watch it. Even so, it will be a fun film for the younger viewers to watch and get pumped up.

With a tantalizing combination of beauties such as Lucy Liu and Jamie Chung with beasts such as Russel Crowe and David Batista, the movie has the potential of being a sexy flick- a candle that burns bright but dies quickly. I wouldn’t say it shows promise in the long run, but hey, I could be wrong.

____________________________________

I hope that you enjoyed this article; feel free to leave comments of your thoughts below and remember to like the post, follow the blog and our twitter (@TheNerdNexus) for further updates.

6 thoughts on “So RZA and Tarantino walk into a bar: Man with the Iron Fists Preview

  1. I agree with your analysis. This movie looks very middle school. Given the talent involved, it could turn out better than o.k. I’ll keep my expectations low.

  2. But you are definitely still going to watch it, aren’t you? Because even though it is middle school level, the children inside of us get giddy at the prospect of over the top violence…or is that just me.

  3. I’m going to fake it for real, throw out there spur of the moment, show up five minutes late, and drop something heavy before I find my seat.

  4. I got really excited when I read your article. Then it all came crashing down. Why? Russell Crowe. I cannot abide the man and will never knowingly put money in his pocket. It is annoying though as it looks like a great action film. Oh well.

    • What, no love for Maximus Decimus Meridius?

      You know, when I first saw the trailer, I wondered why Crowe would stoop down to be in such a corny movie, but after hearing numerous people express distaste for him, I can see why. I guess his popularity bubble has popped

      • Gladiator was the only Crowe film I liked, but the reason for liking it had nothing to do with him. I was (and still am) a huge fan of the late Oliver Reed. Crowe was good in the film, but not long after it’s release he started his unforgivable behaviour towards his fans and the ‘normal’ people he came in contact with. Being talented is not a good reason to be a prat.

Leave a comment