Halo 2: Anniversary Edition

In this month’s Official Xbox Magazine, fans and skeptics were tossed a controversial bone. While only a rumor, the possibility of a Halo 2 Anniversary Edition is a topic that can either instigate annoyance, or giddy anticipation. I myself am on the annoyed side of the spectrum. Really? I mean, really? The first I can understand, but why remake Halo 2.

I am a fan of the Halo franchise, and have been playing the games since they made their appearance on the original Xbox with Halo: Combat Evolved. As a fan, I found myself quite happy to hear about 343’s venture to remake Halo 1. I enjoyed playing the original Halo, and would even pick it up from time to time to relive the experience, though I would always be annoyed by the graphics of the game.

When they announced the Anniversary Edition I found myself skeptical, wondering if the game industry was going to turn out to be like the film industry, remaking and corrupting legends of the past. I was pleasantly surprised by 343’s efforts to maintain the integrity and authenticity of the game by simply revamping the graphics and textures rather than actually remaking the game from scratch. It followed the original Halo’s gaming experience to a T, and added a few new features such as terminals which explain the events that led up to the Halo games, as well as foreshadowing the story of Halo 4. The Anniversary Edition did its job, making me happy that I bought it. However, I think it should have ended there.

 

The possibility of a Halo 2 revamp is no where near as pleasing to me as its predecessor was. Unlike Halo 1, which was very primitive in  terms of game play and graphics, Halo 2 was quite advanced, especially for its time. While its graphics are not perfect, they are no where near as painful as the first games. Halo 2 was my personal favorite chapter in the saga, and the only complaint that I had, like most fan boys, was the ending which did not have the same closing effect as the first game, or any of the subsequent games. Even so, I think the game  is awesome, and perfectly fine as it is.

I mean, what more could they add to it? They could touch up the graphics, bringing it to the standard of Xbox 360 graphics, but what else besides that? More terminals added would be pointless, especially since Halo 4 will probably come after it. Maybe 343 intends to give us perks and a taste of the multiplayer system again, but what would be the point in that, since multiplayer would probably just be using the same engine as Halo 4.

No, I can’t see any real purpose in making a Halo 2 anniversary edition besides to suck more money out of fans. It is this cheesy business tactic that upsets me, not the lack of logic around the games production. Why does 343 want to suck more money out of us? They made reach, remade the first game, and are making Halo 4. These are all great business ventures, but remaking Halo 2 is a sham, without even having the decency to hide its intent. I hope you fan boys get enraged by my opinion and comment below because I really would like to know the point in remaking the second chapter of Halo.

And here I thought I had retired…

I am hoping that this is all just a silly rumor, because I believe the creation of this game could spell trouble for 343 industries and the Halo franchise. Check out an article on the rumor from Gamerant’s website.

____________________________

Leave comments on why you chose the character below! And remember to subscribe,like and follow us on Twitter (@TheNerdNexus)

3 thoughts on “Halo 2: Anniversary Edition

  1. Yes, I do believe this is a way for 343 to just get money. However; I really wanted a revamped version of Halo 2, for it gave me the greatest experience I have ever had. I have no problem buying it. I don’t see what your complaints are really about. They really feel a little invalid to me, but it is an opinion.

  2. Well, my complaint is, what is wrong with Halo 2. The graphics aren’t bad, the game play won’t change. Would you really want to spend 40 bucks just to see the graphics go from a 6.5 to an 8.5?

Leave a Reply

