Book Review: Tucker Max Book series

I was first introduced to the legend that is Tucker Max when I saw the film “I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell”, while the film was pretty entertaining, my mind was not truly blown until I found a copy of your book in my dormitory (yes, I stole it, College Student Budget means you have to do unethical things from time to time). I read the book as if I was possessed by the will of some perverse god; when I finished it, I immediately set out to the nearest book store to buy the sequel. While I have never had the pleasure of meeting Tucker Max, it is far from exaggerated to say that he influenced my life to a certain degree.

Tucker Max, author of ‘I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell‘, ‘Assholes Finish First‘, ‘Hilarity Ensues‘ and ‘Sloppy Seconds‘ took the writing community by storm when he published the first book containing his wild and unbelievable stories. This author, who is often compared to a Frat boy, does not hold back on the crude, gritty, inappropriate details in his writing, which is somehow crafted in a way that makes it next to impossible to stop reading his work. Going from blogs to print to the big screen, Tucker Max has been riding the successful author wave for a long time. However, all good things must come to an end, and Mr. Max, I believe that your end has come.

Before I go any further, I want to make this perfectly clear: I am a huge fan of Tucker and his lecherous personality; I read the first and second books, and own the film adaptation of his first book, and when he released his third book, I was quick to order it off of amazon. You could say that Tucker Max was one of my role models, and while I know I will never get on his level of wildness, I can’t help but admire his brutal bluntness, liver of steel, and horrible habit of ‘dipping his wick’ in anything that moves. I derived a great deal of amusement from his books, which I chose to read rather than pay attention in class.

Unfortunately, his third book ‘Hilarity Ensues’ failed to have an effect on me.

Within reading fifty pages of his new book, I put it down and never picked it up again. Why? It wasn’t because his writing was poor, nor was it because of a sudden burst of maturity that lifted me above such things. No, it was repetition, a killer of many great things.

With ‘I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell’ we were introduced to the jaw dropping narrative that was so vivid that I couldn’t help but wonder if such profane thoughts were allowed to be printed and distributed by the public. When ‘Assholes Finish First’ came out, we were introduced to the same profane nature of stories, though the second half of the book contained Tucker’s experiences after becoming famous, which gave it a breath of fresh air. With the third book however, I found myself unable to put up with the now predictable stories and while there might be a redeeming feature in the book, I couldn’t read it long enough to find it.

Some things just get old after a while, and though people love to read about people who have a more entertaining life than themselves, a story can only be retold so many times. This is a classic “same song, different verse” situation, and frankly, the song is kind of old now Tucker. Perhaps it is time to rest the print-publishing industry aside. Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t want you to stop telling us stories about your experiences,  I just don’t want you to turn them into a book and sell them. Stick to blogging. Books are a different beast entirely and no one enjoys reading four copies of the same thing.

Hell, you don’t even need to resign to just blogging; your books are stuffed to the brim with potential film plots; why not fictionalize your personal, not to the point of making Tucker Max to shit that he never did, but by making a character based on yourself. I can see it now, HBO’s newest hit: “The King of Duke” or something along those lines. People would eat it up. But stay away from books. Please?

Anyway folks, don’t let this review discourage you from reading Tucker Max books, they are awesome! Just don’t buy all of them because you will risk boring yourself after the second book.

And to Tucker Max, if the supernaturally unlikely event were to occur, and you read this blog, don’t think I hate you or anything like that man. I love your shit. I just don’t want to spend thirty bucks to read the same story told with different words and settings.

___________________________________

I hope that you enjoyed this article; feel free to leave comments of your thoughts below and remember to like the post, follow the blog and our twitter (@TheNerdNexus) for further updates.

Leave a Reply

